Subscribe to News Post

Sign up to receive updates about our exhibitions, events, and programs!

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

OCAT Performs: World Factory —Theatre As Social Studies and Practice
2014.11.20 - 2014.11.23

As one of the eight permanent programs of OCAT Shenzhen, OCAT Performs is an annual program started in 2010. The 2014 OCAT Performs project has invited Zhao Chuan, founder of the theatre collective Grass Stage, as its curator. Based on Grass Stage's new production World Factory and METIS' creation inspired by the same title, this year's project introduces and explores how Grass Stage, a collective in its 10th year since establishment, transforms theatre into a site for contemporary social studies and practice, and engenders dynamic local and international interactions. Revolved around the performance, this year's program will explore further into the subject with lectures, post-performance talks and seminars.


World Factory by Grass Stage aims at exploring the historical and geopolitical aspects of, and especially workers' living conditions in the global manufacturing industry from the emergence of ‘world factory’ to its current prevalence in China. The concept of this play originated from Zhao Chuan’s visit to Manchester, UK in 2009, and underwent 4–5 years of preparation. Based on the artistic experience and theatrical aesthetics developed over the past ten years, Grass Stage has incorporated materials generated from their discussions, research, documentation and workshops into collective creation, completed the play in mid-2014, and toured in several Northwestern cities in China. Apart from exchanging with worker’s associations and schools in China, it has also spread the subject overseas, and began collaborating with the performing arts company METIS. Under the support of its director Zoe Svendsen, METIS started their own research and conceived their own production under the same title, which, in a British perspective, uses the textile industry as the starting point to explores the relationships of Britain and China with consumer capitalism.


Grass Stage was founded in Shanghai in 2005, with writer/theatre professional Zhao Chuan as its mastermind, and has since accumulated followers and influence. It encourages common people to participate in theatre and creative endeavors, and emphasizes the connection between artistic practices and everyday life; its members congregate weekly to discuss , hold performance workshops, and work on individual as well as group creations. Over the years, Grass Stage has made use of various venues to stage not-for-profit performances, forums and “culture outposts”. Their theatre has thus become a gathering spot for all kinds of people, and is continually creating fluid public spaces. Zhao Chuan once wrote, ‘to imagine a kind of theatre…first, it doesn’t come from the need for artistic re volition in formalistic terms but the need to improve the understanding of the relationship between theatre and people. The main concern of this kind of theatre is social life, not by ways of reflection but that of penetration and more substantial interventions, as question or even interrogation. Such reality is absolutely not naturalistic imitation, ingratiation or duplication. In certain way, this kind of theatre is approaching the truths of self, individuals, and social groups, and the process of interrogation is theatre which then becomes a method to reflect on life and its problems.’ (Zhao Chuan, “ Interrogating Theatre”, Dushu, April 2006)


The OCT Contemporary Art Terminal (OCAT) was founded in 2005, and was officially elevated to the level of a nationwide contemporary art museum group in April 2012. The museum’s headquarters is located in Shenzhen, with museum venues across the country, including OCAT Shenzhen, the OCT Art and Design Gallery, OCAT Shanghai, OCAT Xi’an, OCAT Beijing and OCAT Wuhan. As the group’s first facility, OCAT Shenzhen has long been devoted to researching the theory and practice of Chinese and international contemporary art. Since its inception, the museum’s curatorial, research and collecting work has focused on creations and ideas in art.




Program schedule


Performances:

November 21, 22 (Friday & Saturday) at 8 pm

World Factory

by Grass Stage



Lectures:

November 20 (Thursday) at 8 pm  

World Factory as An International Interaction

Speakers: Zhao Chuan, Simon Daw


November 22 (Saturday) at 4 pm

Grass Stage's Route to Social Theatre

Speaker: Grass Stage


Workshop:

November 22 (Saturday) at 2 pm

World Factory Themed Workshop

hosted by Metis

(Pre-registration needed to participate.)


International Seminar:

November 23 (Sunday) at 1 pm

The Exploration of Theatre as Social Studies and Practice: World Factory as An Example


About the curator:

Zhao Chuan, writer, curator and theatre director, lives in Shanghai. He is the co-founder and director of Chinese grass-root theatre collective Grass Stage since 2005, and has been producing marginal but socially-conscious contemporary theatre and promoting new forms of social theatre and non-profit public spaces. His awards include the Unita Prize for New Novelists (2001). He has been invited to international literary, art and theatre festivals and events, and been visiting scholar and lecturer at influential universities in China and overseas.

订阅新闻邮件

订阅我们的新闻邮件,获取最新的OCAT信息!

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

Slide 1

世界工厂

“OCAT表演”:《世界工厂》 ——作为一种社会研究和实践的剧场
2014.11.20 - 2014.11.23

“OCAT表演”,作为OCAT深圳馆的八个常设内容之一,是自2010年开始并确立的年度项目。本年度的“OCAT表演”特别请来民间戏剧团队草台班的发起人赵川担纲策划,以草台班2014年新戏《世界工厂》和推动出英国剧团METIS在同一题目下的相关创作为基础,介绍和探讨创立已近十年的草台班,如何将剧场改造成进行当下社会研究和实践的现场,并催生出生动的国内和国际互动。围绕表演,本项目还将结合讲座、演后谈和研讨会等系列活动来就相关问题作深入思考和探索。


草台班的《世界工厂》意在探讨从最早世界工厂的出现,到目前在中国的大规模存在,其中全球制造业中的时间、空间和政治层面,尤其是工人的生存环境。该戏的创作源于赵川2009年的英国曼切斯特之行,筹备阶段长达四、五年。2014年,立足于草台班近十年来积累起的创作传统及相关剧场美学,他们将讨论、调研、纪录和工作坊等的成果融入进集体创作,于年中完成《世界工厂》的创作并去了西北部城市巡演。该戏在漫长的筹备期间,除与一些工友机构和学院互动,亦将相关议题的讨论及影响波及海外,因此建立起合作关系的METIS剧团,在它的主持者Zoe Svendsen的推动下,也随后以同一题目进行调研和推出自己的创作构想。英国视角的下的世界工厂项目,以纺织工业为切入点,意在探讨中英两国与消费资本主义之间的关系。


已日益引起关注和形成影响的草台班,2005年初在上海成立,由作家、戏剧工作者赵川主持活动和创作。草台班激励普通人投身剧场和创作,强调艺术活动与生活的关联;成员每周聚会,讨论议题,做表演工作坊、个人创作和集体创作等。多年来草台班不拘一格地利用各种场地,进行非牟利的排演、讨论和举办“文化站”等活动,他们的剧场成为了不同人群参与的聚会场所,不断塑造出流动的公共空间。赵川曾撰文写道:“如果设想一种剧场……首先,它肯定不是出于形式主义艺术革新的需要,而是想要完善一种对剧场与人的关系的理解。社会生活是这种剧场主要关心的对象,关心的方式不是反映,而是着力于穿透和更实质的介入,像是追问,甚至逼问。这真实决不是自然主义式的模拟、贴近或仿造。这种剧场要通过一定的方式,去逼近自己的、个人的和社会群落的真相,逼问的过程便是戏剧。它成为反省生活,以及其中种种问题的途径。”(赵川《逼问剧场》,《读书》2006.4)


   华侨城当代艺术中心(OCAT)创立于2005年,2012年4月正式升格为布局全国的当代艺术馆群。馆群总部设在深圳,目前已建和在建的有 OCAT深圳馆、华·美术馆、OCAT上海馆、OCAT西安馆、OCAT北京馆和OCAT武汉馆。作为馆群中成立最早的机构,OCAT深圳馆长期致力于国内和国际当代艺术和理论的实践和研究。从开创至今,一直围绕着艺术的创作和思考而展开其策展、研究和收藏工作。


活动日程一览:

11月20日 (周四)


20:00-21.30 讲座:作为国际互动的《世界工厂》,

            主讲:赵川,西蒙·昂(Simon Daw)


11月21日 (周五)


19:00 互动作品:“世界工厂:衬衣”展示,METIS

20 :00-22:00 演出:《世界工厂》及演后谈,草台班


11月22日 (周六)


14:00-15:30 世界工厂情景工作坊,主持:METIS

16:00-17:30 讲座:草台班的社会剧场之路,主讲:草台班

20:00-22:00 演出:《世界工厂》及演后谈,草台班


11月23日 (周日)


13:00-17:30国际研讨会:探索成为社会研究和实践的剧场——以《世界工厂》为例



关于策划人:


   赵川,作家、艺术项目策划人及剧场导演,生活在上海。他是从2005开始的中国重要民间剧社“草台班”的主创者之一及主持者,创作边缘但社会性极强的当代剧场,力致于推动新的社会剧场和非牟利公共空间。赵川获得的文学奖项包括台湾的联合文学小说新人奖(2001),在文学、艺术方面写作和编撰的书籍超过十数种。他受邀参加过许多国际文学、艺术和戏剧节及相关活动,并曾于国内外数间有影响的大学访学、讲学。





OCAT深圳馆

地址:深圳南山区华侨城恩平街华侨城创意文化园南区F2栋

开放时间:周二至周日 10:00—17:30(逢周一闭馆)

网站:http://www.ocat.org.cn

官方微信请搜索账号:OCATShenzhen

微博:OCT当代艺术中心

优酷视频:http://i.youku.com/ocatsz

Facebook:OCT Contemporary Art Terminal - OCAT Shenzhen


11月22日下午3点至5点半,本年度“OCAT表演”将举行系列活动之一“《世界工厂》情景工作坊”,现公开募集志愿者,期待您的参与。