Subscribe to News Post

Sign up to receive updates about our exhibitions, events, and programs!

Slide 1

Trevor Yeung, Jia Le Cheng Koi Fountain, ceramics, citrine, pump, tubes, LED light, water, 2016

Slide 1

Cheng Ran, Hit-Or-Miss-ist, heavy black vinyl, 180 g, two-sided
, ∅ 30 cm, 33 1/3 rpm long-playing (LP) format, side A: 24'43", side B: 19'05", 2013

Slide 1

Zheng Bo, Sing for Her, interactive installation, 2013-15

Slide 1

Trevor Yeung, Music Box (bedroom), fish tanks, lamps, stands, aquarium equipment, water, 2016

Slide 1

Lau Wai, Album, archival pigment print, dimensions variable, 2014

Slide 1

Karel Koplimets, Case No. 11. TALSINKI, photographic installation, fog machine, 50*75*15* cm, 2016

Adrift
2016.1.16 - 2016.2.28

Opening: 16:00, January 16, 2016

Duration: January 16-February 28, 2016

Venue: OCAT Shenzhen Exhibition Hall B

Location: OCAT Shenzhen Exhibition Hall B, OCT Loft, Enping Road, Nanshan, Shenzhen

Support: Shenzhen Overseas Chinese Town Corporation Ltd.


From Jan 16th to Feb 28th, 2016, OCAT Shenzhen will present the group exhibition Adrift in OCAT Hall B. Turning its gaze upon the Pearl River Delta region and taking the sociological issue of “population mobility” as its foundation, this exhibition observes and reflects on the phenomenon of “migration” through the contexts of the works on display, and the dialogues that occur between them. Most of the participating artists are from Guangdong province, and take their personal experiences or research as the starting point for their creations, contemplating the issue of “migration” with poetic sensitivity, intellectual critique, or nomadic openness.


The exhibition title, Adrift, is taken from Taiwanese writer Wang Hui-ling’s eponymous novel, whose non-linear narrative weaves Eileen Chang’s itinerant life experiences and artistic creations closely together. Several periods of migration in Eileen Chang’s life endowed her with the perspective of a foreigner, through which she observed, recalled, and eventually wrote on the elusiveness of an age of turbulence. The same case holds for this exhibition’s artists, whose most personal, poignant, insightful and provocative creations often grew out of a fragile and restless context. Adrift takes inspiration from the symbiotic relationship between an artist’s creation and his or her travels through a foreign land: What leads us to choose to head towards a foreign place? Is it really a choice, and do these transplants really have total agency? Is it a mere illusion that “homeland” and “foreign land” stand as polarized, both semantically and emotionally? Meanwhile, the romantic feelings embedded in the notion of “drifting” and the reality of it are also interwoven in the exhibition’s emotional layers.


The decision to set off on a “voyage” often stems from a thirst for adventure. Notice, at the exhibition’s entrance, the bodily conversation between two actors playing respectively “the river and “the pond” (The River and the Pond, Cheng Ran): the pond, calmly contemplative, is weak in its quiescence; the river, dynamic and inflamed, ends up beyond exhaustion. Drawn from a classic fable, this work has long been engraved in those drowsy bedtime moments of our childhood, ready for each audience member to cast him- or herself into its metaphors, and find their own place in it. In Music Box, Trevor Young, who moved to Hong Kong from Dongguan in his childhood, recounts the anxiety and unrest of migration through sound and immersive space—his installation of stacked fish tanks is a reproduction of an intimate space he once built for himself: the sound of running water from the fish tanks he placed in his childhood bedroom would overwhelm the anxiety of being the newly migrated. Album, a work by another Hong Kong-based artist, Lau Wai, piercingly exposes aspects of the collective memory within a family album. While expressively projecting a general picture of the age, the ever-changing traces of space and time in the details of the works subtly illustrate the migrational experiences throughout the lives of several generations.


Home to a large and floating migrant population, Shenzhen, as the place of this exhibition, provides an extensive and profound context for the issues to be discussed, such as labor and migration. In his performance/video work, Retreated to the Windows of the World, artist Li Liao, a Wuhan native who now lives in Shenzhen, walks in reverse in a fast-moving, commercial city. The artist turns his back on this 90s theme park, a symbol of Chinese people’s desire to travel abroad, only to look at it through the front camera of his cellphone. Estonian artist Karel Koplimets’s Case No 11. TALINSINKI demonstrates the exchange of “commodities” and the floating back and forth of people on a giant ferry transporting between Tallinn and Helsinki—this work depicts the continual movement between the two ports of such travelers, while the criss-crossing of overloaded carts and exhausted figures evokes a sense of déjà vu for anyone who has visited any of the ports between Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Zheng Bo’s interactive sound installation, Sing for Her, invites the audience to join the lower classes in Hong Kong in singing their native folk songs. The voices of Filipino domestic servants, Indonesian workers, and mainland immigrants, all singing together, bridge the distance between their homeland and this foreign place, becoming at the same time a means for the audience to enter the life trajectories of the singers.


The last chapter of Homer’s epic, “The Odyssey,” tells of the homecoming of the war hero Odysseus, after spending ten years lost at sea due to having angered Poseidon—interestingly, in its contemporary expression, anchored within a consumerist society, “Odyssey” has been simplified, becoming synonymous with the idea of a “grand journey” or a “romantic adventure,” just like the exuberantly romantic dialogue in The River and the Pond. That the significance of “returning home” is largely erased by the emphasis on “grand journey” perhaps results from the absence of any reason to stay anywhere in our present, where labor, consumer goods, spare parts and accessories, information, and knowledge are in a state of unceasing flow——in the context of neoliberalism,“drifting” is at once the process and the destination. The subject of examination and discussion in Adrift is precisely individuals and communities in this condition: diasporic wanderers who shuttle back and forth on the Baltic sea; new communities migrating from the mainland to Hong Kong; and the crowds that drift about in the urbanized area of Shenzhen. Just like the “foreign land” that bears the weight of romantic fantasies and thrills of adventure, the “home” to which the hope of a “stable life” is entrusted is often also an oceanic phantom which, like a spectre, floats in the bubbles in fish tanks and rests in the yellowed corners of family albums. As a fictitious dichotomy, “foreign land” and “home” constantly beckon voyagers on the ocean to undertake an eternal back-and-forth. To be aware of the universality of this frail living condition does not meanadapting to a vagrant life “at sea”; rather, it urges us to identify and challenge this socio-economicpolitical undercurrent, and its over-simplified dichotomy.


Adrift is a collaborative project by young curator Chen Li, Qu Chang, and Zeng Wenqi.



Participating artists


Cheng Ran (b. 198, Inner Mongolia) currently lives and works in Hangzhou. He was in residence at the the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Amsterdam in 2013–14. Cheng specializes in creating works with rudimentary filmmaking techniques such as the simplest editing, reverse playing, montage and long takes. His films usually do not have coherent storylines, but instead accentuate the sentiments of individuals. 


Lau Wai (b. 1982, Hong Kong) currently lives and works in Hong Kong. She received her BA (Hons) Degree in Fine Art from Goldsmiths College, University of London, 2007 and was awarded the Warden's Art Prize upon graduation. Lau’s past exhibitions include (selected): Asia Photography And Image Center (Echigo Tsumari, Japan, 2015) and “Imagine There's No Country, Above Us Only Our Cities” (Hong Kong, China, 2015).


Li Liao (b. 1982, Honghu, Hubei) currently lives and works in Shenzhen. Graduated from Hubei Academy of Fine Arts, Li’s works employ performances/installations to question the common absurdity in reality. He was awarded the Huayu Youth Award, and was nominated by the Hugo Boss Asia Art Award in 2013.


Karel Koplimets (b. 1986, Tallin) lives and works in Tallinn and has MA degree in Photography (Estonian Academy of Arts, 2013). He is a member of the artist collective Visible Solutions LLC (together with Sigrid Viir and Taaniel Raudsepp) and he has participated in various exhibitions in Estonia and abroad. To mention some of the latest: reGeneration3 in Lausanne, Switzerland (2015) and “Society Acts - The Moderna Exhibition” in Malmö, Sweden (2014). 


Trevor Yeung (b. 1988, China) lives and works in Hong Kong. He graduated from the Academy of Visual Arts at Hong Kong Baptist University in 2010. Yeung’s practice uses botanic ecology, horticulture, photography and installations as metaphors that reference the emancipation of everyday aspirations toward human relationships.


Zheng Bo (b. 1974, Beijing) is an artist and writer specializing in socially engaged art. In recent years, he has begun to rethink politics from the perspectives of botany.. He is a member of the editorial board of Journal of Chinese Contemporary Art and holds a PhD in Visual and Cultural Studies from the University of Rochester. Started from 2013, he has been a lecturer at the School of Creative Media, Hong Kong City University.

订阅新闻邮件

订阅我们的新闻邮件,获取最新的OCAT信息!

Slide 1

杨沛铿,《家乐城鲤鱼喷水池》,陶瓷、黄水晶、泵、管、灯、水,2016

Slide 1

程然,《漫无主义者》,双面黑胶唱片, 180 g,
直径30 cm,33 1/3每分钟转数,A面:24'43";B面:19'05" ,2013

Slide 1

郑波,《为伊唱》,互动装置,2013-15

Slide 1

杨沛铿,《音乐盒(睡房)》,鱼缸,灯,支架,水族器材,水,2016

Slide 1

刘卫,Album系列,收藏级颜料打印,尺寸可变,2014

Slide 1

卡瑞尔·库普利梅兹,《第11号案例:塔林辛基》,照片装置,雾机,50*75*15cm,2016

他/她从海上来
2016.1.16 - 2016.2.28

参展艺术家:程然、卡瑞尔·库普利梅兹(Karel Koplimets)、李燎、刘卫、杨沛铿、郑波

开幕时间:2016年1月16日16:00

展览时间:2016年1月16日-2月28日

展览地点:OCAT深圳馆B展厅

主办:OCAT深圳馆

支持:深圳华侨城股份有限公司


OCAT深圳馆将于2016年1月16日至2月28日于OCAT展厅B呈现群展“他/她从海上来”。展览将目光投向珠江三角洲地区,基于“人口流动”这一社会学议题、借助作品间的对话及语境对“迁移”现象进行观察以及反思。展览参展艺术家多来自广东地区,创作以个人经历或研究为出发点,对“迁移”投以或诗性敏感、或智性批判、或游移开放的思考。


“他/她从海上来”取自于台湾作家王蕙玲同名小说《她从海上来》——非线性叙事将张爱玲流动的生命经验与艺术创作紧密联系。张爱玲一生中多次迁居赋予她外来者的视角,并以之观察并回溯,书写变动时代中的漂泊不定。艺术家最个人、敏锐、具洞察力及火花的创作也往往产生于脆弱不安的语境下 。“他/她从海上来”以艺术创作与异乡漂泊的共生关系为灵感:什么让人们选择前往异地?他们是否真拥有选择权和主动性?“故土”与“异乡”在语义及情感上的两极分化是否只是幻像?同时,“漂泊”的浪漫与现实也编织着本次展览的情感分层。

“航行”的决定常来自对冒险的渴望,正如展厅入口处两位分饰“池塘”与“河流”的演员之拟物对话(《河流与池塘》,程然):池塘的沉思静远与枯燥衰竭,以及河流的奔流燃动与疲惫不堪。此取材自经典寓言的作品早铭刻在人们幼时昏昏的睡前时刻,以便人们各自地将自己嵌入比喻、对号入座。杨沛铿幼年从东莞迁居香港,作品《Music Box》透过声音与浸入式空间叙述迁移中的焦虑与不安——叠放的鱼缸装置再现他年少时在卧室以鱼缸搭造的私密空间,水流声掩盖新移民的不安。同样生活在香港的艺术家刘卫的作品《Album》敏锐地揭示出家庭相簿中集体记忆的局部,一方面发散式地投射着时代的概貌,另一方面,作品局部细节中不断变化的时间-空间痕迹轻巧地暗示数代人的生命迁移经验。

深圳容纳大量外来流动人口,作为展览地点为劳工、移民等等议题提供广泛深刻讨论语境。生活在深圳的武汉艺术家李燎在行为/录像作品《退到世界之窗》中在飞速运行的商业城市中反向行走,与建于90 年代、象征中国人出国游历之渴望的主题公园透过手机自拍镜头抵背相视。爱沙尼亚艺术家卡瑞尔·库普利梅兹(Karel Koplimets)在《第11 号案例:塔林辛基》中呈现了 “商品”的交换与人的往返浮动在塔林及赫尔辛基间穿梭的巨轮上相遇——作品投影两个港口往返的人群,在沉重的商品推车与疲惫身影的交错间带来深港各口岸的即视感。郑波的声音互动装置《为伊唱》邀请观众与生活在香港的底层社群一起歌唱她们的家乡歌谣,菲律宾家庭佣工、印尼佣工以及大陆新移民的歌声连接着异乡与故土的距离,同时成为观众进入歌者生命轨迹的入口。

荷马史诗的终卷《奥德赛》(Odyssey)记录了战争英雄奥德修斯(Odysseus)因激怒海神波塞冬,在海上漂泊十年的归家历程——有趣的是,在被商品社会附体的现代表达中,“奥德赛”被简单化为“宏伟旅程”以及“浪漫冒险”的代名词,一如《河流与池塘》中充满浪漫色彩的对话。“归家”的意涵被“伟大的旅程”所抹去,或许因为在劳动力、消费品、零配件、信息知识不断流通的当下早已没有停留的理由——在新自由主义的浪潮下,“漂流”既是过程也是终点。“他/她从海上来”所考察并讨论的正是这一状态下的个体与集体:从波罗的海上穿梭来回的流民,到香港的大陆新移民群体,再到深圳城市内漂流的人群。承载着浪漫幻想与冒险激情的“异乡”一样,寄托着“安定生活”愿望的“家”往往也是海上的幻影,幽灵般漂浮在鱼缸的气泡声与家庭相薄的泛黄角落里。“异乡”与“家”作为两个虚构式的二元概念不断召唤着海上的航者们永恒地往返。意识到这种脆弱生存处境的普遍性,并非意味着适应“海上”的流浪生活,而是发现并挑战这种社会-经济-政治的潜流,以及过于简单的二元对立。


“他/她从海上来”由青年策展人陈立、瞿畅、曾文琪共同策划。



参展艺术家简介


程然,1981年生于内蒙古,目前生活和工作于中国杭州,曾于2013-2014年参加过荷兰阿姆斯特丹皇家视觉艺术学院的艺术家驻留项目。他擅长使用基本的影片技法来创作,如最简单的剪辑、倒放、蒙太奇和长镜头等,影片常常没有完整的情节的故事叙述,着重突出个人情绪。


刘卫,1982年出生于香港,现于香港生活及工作。2007年伦敦大学金匠学院纯艺术学士毕业,同年获学院颁发The Warden's Art Prize。过去参与展览包括:“中国摄影新势力”,亚洲写真影像馆(日本新泻县,2015年)、“如果只有城籍而没有国籍”(中国香港,2015年)等。


李燎,1982年生于湖北洪湖,2005年毕业于湖北武汉,现居于深圳。他的作品多以行为/装置的形式对现实里平凡的荒谬进行挑衅。李燎曾获得华宇青年奖新锐艺术家奖项,并被提名2013年HUGO BOSS亚洲艺术大奖中国新锐艺术家。


卡瑞尔·库普利梅兹,1986年生于爱沙尼亚塔林,至今生活并工作于塔林。他于2013年在爱沙尼亚艺术学院获得摄影硕士学位,同时也是艺术家团体Visible Solution LLC的一员。他近期参与的展览包括:“reGeneration3” (瑞士洛桑,2015)和“社会行动-现代展览”(瑞典马尔默,2014)。


杨沛铿于1988年生于广东省东莞市,现居于香港,他于2010年毕业于香港浸会大学视觉艺术学院。杨采用植物生态,园艺,摄影和装置来隐喻对人与人之间的关系,以此舒怀。 


郑波,1974年在北京出生。他一直专注于社会性艺术的创作与研究,近年来也开始从植物的角度思考政治。他任英文期刊 Journal of Chinese Contemporary Art 的编委,拥有美国罗杰斯特大学视觉文化研究博士学位,2013 年后在香港城市大学创意媒体学院任教。